I Love My Crock Pot

I’m a foodie and I love to cook and bake.  So when I run across an awesome recipe I just want to share.  I was determined that this is the school year to go easy on myself and break out my crock pot.  And let me tell you, there are tons of great recipes out there for this marvelous cooking tool!

From Allrecipes.com  I found this recipe submitted by RaisinKane aka Patti called Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup.  Well everyone in my house loves tacos, using any kind of meat, so I decided to give this a try. And I picked a winner.  Without further delay:

 

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped

1 (16 oz) can chili beans

1 (15 oz) can black beans

1 (15 oz) can whole kernel corn, drained

1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce

1 (12 fluid oz) can or bottle beer

2 (10 oz) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained

1 (1.25 oz) package taco seasoning

3 whole skinless, boneless chicken breasts

shredded cheddar cheese (optional)

sour cream (optional)

crushed tortilla chips (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1.  Place onion, chili beans, corn, tomato sauce, beer, and diced tomatoes in a crock pot.  Add taco seasoning, and stir to blend.  Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients.  Set crock pot for low heat, cover, and cook for 5 hours.

2.  Remove chicken breasts from the soup, and allow to cool long enough to be handled.  Shred the chicken using two forks.  Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup, and continue cooking for 2 hours.  Serve topped wit shredded cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream,  and crushed tortilla chips, if desired.

Additionally, I added chopped green onions and cayenne pepper to taste.  Let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

